Nomination Committee’s proposal for the Board ahead of the 2017 Annual General Meeting of Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget SCA

  • Regulatory press release

The Nomination Committee of Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget SCA proposes the re-election of board members Ewa Björling, Pär Boman, Maija-Liisa Friman, Annemarie Gardshol, Magnus Groth, Bert Nordberg, Louise Svanberg, Johan Malmquist and Barbara Milian Thoralfsson. The Nomination Committee proposes that Lars Rebien Sørensen be elected as a new Board member. In addition, the Nomination Committee proposes that Pär Boman be re-elected as Chairman of the Board. Information about the Board members nominated for re-election is available on SCA’s website.

Lars Rebien Sørensen, B.Sc. Forestry and B.Sc. Economics, Copenhagen Business School, served as President and CEO of Novo Nordisk from 2000 to 2016, and prior to that he served as Head of Health Care for Novo Nordisk, from 1994 to 2000. Mr. Sørensen is currently Deputy Chairman of Carlsberg and a Board member of the Novo Nordisk Foundation and Thermo Fisher Scientific, USA. He has previously served as a Board member for Bertelsmann, Danmarks Nationalbank, Dong Energy and SAS, among others. 

The Nomination Committee’s other proposals will be announced in the notice of SCA’s Annual General Meeting.

SCA’s Annual General Meeting will be held on Wednesday, April 5, 2017, at 3 p.m. at the Stockholm Waterfront Congress Centre, Nils Ericsons Plan 4, Stockholm, Sweden.

The Nomination Committee’s work ahead of a distribution of the hygiene business

As communicated by SCA in August 2016, SCA’s current Board members elected by the shareholders and the Company’s CEO, Magnus Groth, have made up the Board of directors and CEO, respectively, of SCA Hygiene AB. Following a split, this company will be the parent company of the hygiene business. The intention is that the Board members elected by SCA’s 2017 Annual General Meeting will make up the Board of directors of SCA Hygiene AB after a distribution. 

In addition to its ordinary duties, the Nomination Committee ahead of SCA’s 2017 Annual General Meeting has also been requested by the Board to propose Board members for SCA’s subsidiary SCA Forest Products AB, in which company the forest products business is conducted. This Board of directors of SCA Forest Products AB will be appointed by SCA shortly and is planned to make up the Board of directors of SCA after a distribution of SCA Hygiene AB. Accordingly, the Nomination Committee has proposed that SCA appoint the following persons as Board members of SCA Forest Products AB: Pär Boman (Chairman of the Board), Charlotte Bengtsson, Lennart Evrell, Annemarie Gardshol, Ulf Larsson, Martin Lindqvist, Bert Nordberg, Barbara Milian Thoralfsson and Lotta Lyrå.

Information about Pär Boman, Annemarie Gardshol, Bert Nordberg and Barbara Milian Thoralfsson is available on SCA’s website.

Charlotte Bengtsson (born 1971), M.Sc. Engineering, Lic. Engineering and Ph.D. Engineering in Steel and Wood Construction. She is Managing Director of the Skogsforsk research institute since 2015. Ms. Bengtsson served previously as department manager of Wood Engineering and Wood Construction at SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden, and prior to that as a researcher/project leader in wood construction at SP. Charlotte Bengtsson is also an adjunct professor of Wood Building Technology at Linnaeus University.

Lennart Evrell (born 1954), M.Sc. Engineering, Economics. He is President and CEO of Boliden since 2008 and has served in numerous executive positions since 1985, including as President and CEO of Sapa, President and CEO of Munters, and in various positions for ASEA, Atlas Copco and Sphinx Gustavsberg.  Mr. Evrell is Chairman of the Board of Umeå University and of Gruvornas Arbetsgivareförbund, and is a Board member of the Confederation of Swedish Enterprise.

Ulf Larsson (born 1962), B.Sc. Forestry, President of SCA Forest Products AB since 2008. He has also served as an Executive Vice President of SCA since 2016, with experience from executive positions dating back to 1987 with Scaninge Timber, SCA Skog, SCA Timber and Domänverket. Mr. Larsson is a Board member of the Confederation of Swedish Enterprise and a former Board member of Mid Sweden University and Heinzel Holding GmbH.

Martin Lindqvist (born 1962), B.Sc. Economics, President and CEO of SSAB since 2011. He has held numerous executive positions at SSAB since 1998, including as Business Area Manager, Divisional Manager, CFO and Financial Manager. He served previously as Chief Controller for NCC. Mr. Lindqvist is a Board member of Industriarbetsgivarna and BasEL. He is a former Board member of Indutrade AB.

Lotta Lyrå (born 1975), M.Sc. Econ., Stockholm School of Economics, President and CEO-elect of Clas Ohlson. Ms. Lyrå has, since 2009, held executive positions within the Ikea Group, including as head of strategy as well as head of development. Prior to this she gained experience in the Swedish forest industry, among other things as head of development at Södra Timber and sawmill manager at Södra’s Mönsterås sawmill. Former employee of McKinsey & Company.

SCA’s Nomination Committee’s members are Helena Stjernholm (AB Industrivärden), Petter Johnsen (Norges Bank Investment Management), Håkan Sandberg (Handelsbanken Pension Foundation and others), Hans Sterte (Skandia), and Pär Boman (Chairman of the Board of SCA). Helena Stjernholm is Nomination Committee chair.

NB: This information is such that SCA is obligated to make public pursuant to the EU Market Abuse Regulation. The information was submitted for publication, through the agency of the contact person set out below, at 18:30 CET on February 23, 2017.

For further information, please contact:
Karl Stoltz, Media Relations Manager, 46 (0)8 - 788 51 55