Nomination Committee proposal for the Board ahead of the 2016 SCA Annual General Meeting

  • Regulatory press release

The Nomination Committee of Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget SCA proposes that the following Board members be re-elected: Pär Boman, Annemarie Gardshol, Magnus Groth, Bert Nordberg, Louise Julian Svanberg and Barbara Milian Thoralfsson. Leif Johansson has declined re-election. The Nomination Committee proposes that Ewa Björling, Maija-Liisa Friman and Johan Malmquist be elected as new Board members. The Nomination Committee also proposes that Pär Boman be re-elected as Chairman of the Board. Information about the Board members nominated for re-election is available on SCA’s website.

Ewa Björling is a Med. Dr. Sci. and Associate Professor from the Karolinska Institute. She served as the Minister for Trade from 2007 to 2014 and Minister for Nordic Cooperation from 2010 to 2014. Ewa is a member of the Board of Biogaia AB and Mobilaris AB, and former Board member of the Swedish National Insurance Office and the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA).

Maija-Liisa Friman holds a MSc. Eng. and served as CEO of Aspocomp Group Plc from 2004 to 2007. Prior to that, she served as the President of Vattenfall Oy and Gyproc Oy. Maija-Liisa is the Vice Chairman of the Board of Neste Corporation and a Board member of Finnair, LKAB and Boardman Oy. She previously served as a Board member of TeliaSonera, Rautarukki, Metso, Ekokem and Talvivaara Mining Company Plc.

Johan Malmquist holds a MSc. Econ. and served as President and CEO of Getinge from 1997 to 2015. Johan is a Board member of Elekta AB (publ), Mölnlycke Health Care AB, the Dunker Foundations, Medvisor AB and the Chalmers University of Technology Foundation. He previously served as a Board member of Getinge AB and Capio AB.

The Nomination Committee’s other proposals will be announced in the notice convening SCA’s Annual General Meeting. The Nomination Committee comprises Helena Stjernholm (AB Industrivärden), Yngve Slyngstad (Norges Bank Investment Management), Håkan Sandberg (Handelsbanken Pensionsstiftelse and others), Hans Sterte (Skandia) and Pär Boman (Chairman of the Board of SCA). Helena Stjernholm is the Chairman of the Nomination Committee.

SCA’s Annual General Meeting will be held on Thursday, April 14, 2016, at 3:00 p.m. in Aula Magna, Stockholm University, Frescativägen 6, Stockholm.

NB: Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget SCA (publ) discloses the information provided herein pursuant to the Securities Markets Act (SFS 2007:528). The information was submitted for publication on February 16, 2016, at 8:15 a.m. CET.

For further information, please contact:
Helena Stjernholm, Chairman of the SCA Nomination Committee, 46 8 666 64 00